• Call us at 512.419.9777

This past weekend Google announced a plan to start using its user’s names and pictures in its advertisements, starting November 11th.  While these would only be in their web ads, customer’s should expect to potentially see a friend or relatives name and picture next to a product they may have reviewed in the past to help make the ad more personal to you.  While it may be helpful to know if a friend or family recommend a product to you, many of us don’t like the idea of Google using us to sell products for them.  The good news is it is very easy to opt out of this.  Simply goto the following link and verify the box is unchecked.  Strangely enough some people are finding the box has already been checked by default and others are finding the box unchecked.   Either way, make sure there is no check mark in the box.   (If you have never used your Gmail account it may take you to a page to actually setup your Google account, if this happens, your fine, as Google doesn’t have your information!)